Chagrin Falls Students to Perform “The Sound of Music”

If you enjoyed this - please share it!Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest0Share on LinkedIn0Share on Google+0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Tumblr0

The Chagrin Falls Community Education Fall Drama Club will be presenting “Getting to Know…The Sound of Music” on Friday, November 10th at 7:00 p.m., Saturday, November 11th at 2:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m., and Sunday, November 12th at 2:00 p.m. at the Performing Arts Center on the Chagrin Falls 7-12 campus. Under the direction of Pat Keller Haynish and Lucy Lavery Brown, students from the drama club at the Middle and Intermediate Schools will perform this well-known musical.

The Sound of Music began as a Broadway musical in 1959 and later was adapted as a 1965 movie starring Christopher Plummer and Julie Andrews. It is based on the true story of Maria von Trapp, a nun in Austria only months before the beginning of World War II. The convent sends Maria to be a governess for a widowed retired naval officer and his seven children. She soon ends up falling in love with the children and their father. When the Nazis commission the captain to fight amongst their soldiers, he refuses, forcing Maria and the children to flee Austria with him in hopes of finding a safe place and a new life.

Tickets are $15.00 for adults and $12.00 for students and seniors. They may be purchased in advance until November 9th by filling out a ticket order form and turning it into a cast member or the offices of Chagrin Falls Middle School, Intermediate Learning Village, or Gurney Elementary. Tickets will also be available at the door for each performance.

Pictured In Cover Photo: Back row, Left to Right: Avery Polcar (Liesl), Benjamin Broz (Fredrich), Ashley Mattson (Brigitta), Brenna Sincaglia (Maria), and Claire Stinson (Louisa). Front Left to Right Lilla O’Brien (Gretl), Isabelle Coy (Marta), Eric Feucht (Capt. von Trapp), and Ryan Hill (Kurt)

Chagrin Falls High School Students Excel on AP Exams

This year, 144 Chagrin Falls High School students have earned Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar Awards. These awards recognize high school students who have shown exceptional college-level achievement on AP exams. Many of these Chagrin Falls high schoolers also qualified for the AP Capstone Diploma. Students receive this award by earning a score of 3 or higher in AP Seminar, AP Research, and four other AP Exams of their choice.

The AP Scholar Award is granted to students who achieve grades of 3.0 or higher on at least three full-year AP Exams. Students who received this honor are: John Agan, Alexander Amata, Matthew Batos, Claudia Bunker, Samuel Deutsch, Bennett Eagle, Spencer Fleming, Kyle Foley, Pierce Fricke, Samuel Gottsegen, Mitchell Johnson, Grace Livingston, Sean Lordan, Hailey Lowe, Thomas Mallak, Emily Mason, David McCuaig, Ellen Meil, Michelle Menkoff, Gabriel Norton, Jack O’Brien, Emily Owen, Kevin Schlaker, Rem Weber, Michael Weimann, Kate Weston, Matthew Wynveen, Cassandra Sturman, Duncan Taber, Isabelle Beg, Daniel Bellini, Benjamin Cervelloni, Nicholas DiFiore, Thomas DiGiampietro, Hannah Ducas, Charles Ellis, Rachel Hoy, Margaret Hughes, Anastasia Kotkovskaya, Connor Lewis, Cameron Lucas, Emily Mattson, Jillian Morrison, William Nafziger, Reed Sampsel, Kate Sincaglia, and Madeline Stapulionis.

The AP Scholar with Distinction award is for students who achieve grades of 3.0 or higher on at least five full-year AP Exams, and whose average AP Exam grade is at least 3.5. The students in this category include: William Bartlett*, Alyson Bergomi*, Daniel Berlin*, James Brant, Daniel Brown, Sarah Bullen*, Molly Carroll*, Danielle Currey*, Garrett Curtiss, Anabella DeBernardo*, Mia DiSanto, Patrick Emery, Reed Flynt, Leah Gillespie*, Jane Goble, Pearson Gottschalk*, Trevor Gravely*, Owen Gruss, Grant Harrison, Grace Hass-Hill, Mackenzie Holtz*, Michael Kampman, Benjamin Karyo*, Karl Koenig*, Niels Kristensen, Anna Kruzenski, Andrew Kwasny, Jacob Levine, Mia Magersupp, Katherine Malik, Halle McClintock, Charles Moyse*, Peter Nachtwey, Samira Reddy*, Sarah Relyea, Carter Riegel, Mia Rizzo, Ellen Szymkowicz, Morgan Walker, Caleb Weinberger, William Westbrook*, Georgia Westcott*, Jacey Workum*, Julia Workum, Edward Armstrong, Mason Bartlett, Vincent Bello, Paul Cantlay, Andrew Collins, Christopher Currey*, Jack Deignan, Nicholas DeVito, Maxwell DiLalla, Michael Donley*, Reagan Dowling, Madeline Ferguson, Samuel Gaizutis, Colin Garvey, Mikala Izzo, Riley Kirkpatrick, Elise Kosmides, Lars Kristensen, David Marquette, Melissa McDonnell, Laura Ranieri, Timothy Reboul, Margaret Sobota, Trevor Stevenson, Eneh Turoczi*, Derrick Vehar, Marley Vidmar, Anthony Wahl, Erik Wilson, Matthew Witalec, Matthew Young, Jillian Zaffro, and Elizabeth Zimmer.

Students with asterisks next to their names also received the National AP Scholar award, meaning they received grades of 3.0 or higher on at least eight of their full-year AP Exams and whose average AP Exam grade is at least 4.0.

The AP Scholar with Honors award is given to students who achieve grades of 3.0 or higher on at least four full-year AP Exams and whose average AP Exam Grade is at least 3.25. The students with this honor are: Abigail Cloonan, John Gardner, Aidan Haskett, Joseph Francesca, John Kukla, Georgia Markey, Anna Sherman, Nicholas Streicher, William Tinsley, Kayla Hepler, Samuel Jansen, Charles Reardon, and Yumeno Young, A small group of students earned other AP awards for their efforts. Melissa McDonnell, Laura Ranieri, Margaret Sobota, and Mikala Izzo all received the AP Capstone Diploma. Benjamin Cervelloni, Emily Mattson, Madeline Ferguson, and Marley Vidmar all earned the AP Seminar and Research certificate. Finally, Georgia Westcott was the only Chagrin Falls High school student to be awarded with the AP International Diploma.

It looks like you enjoyed this post! Want more positive local news?
If you enjoyed this - please share it!Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterPin on Pinterest0Share on LinkedIn0Share on Google+0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on Tumblr0