Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District’s 78th Annual Election and Candidate Information

The Board of Supervisors of the Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) would like to cordially invite the public to help celebrate their 78th anniversary in conservation while also voting for two of the next Board Supervisors.  The Annual Dinner and Election is Tuesday, October 18th at the Claridon Woodlands Lodge (11383 Claridon Troy Road, Chardon, 44024).  The election is 6:00-7:00 pm and dinner begins at 7:00 pm.  Candidates include Lorrie Benza, Tracy Engle and Jeffrey Huntsberger.

Lorrie Benza – Lorrie has been a Bainbridge Township resident for 22 years where she and her husband, Michael, raised three children.  Lorrie grew up in Chester Township and is a graduate of West Geauga High School, Case Western University, and Pepperdine University School of Law.  She has worked in private practice and served as the Chief Assistant Prosecutor and Director of the Civil Division for the Geauga County Prosecutor’s Office, where she represented all of Geauga’s townships and numerous county departments.  She also served as Bainbridge Township Trustee for 12 years.  Previously Lorrie has also served on the Geauga County Planning Commission, the Bainbridge Township Zoning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals, Coalition of Large Ohio Urban Townships (CLOUT) executive committee, the Geauga County Dangerous Wild Animal Response Team, and the United Way Services of Geauga County.  She is a graduate of Leadership Geauga and past president of the Geauga County Township Association.  Lorrie welcomes the opportunity to serve as a Geauga SWCD Board Supervisor and would be honored to assist and support individuals, local government bodies, developers, and residents.

Tracy Engle – Tracy is a 23-year resident of Auburn Township with his wife, Jeanne, and three daughters (Natalie, Katie, and Lillie).  He currently serves on the Geauga SWCD Board of Supervisors as Secretary and has served two full terms (2006 – 2009 and 2020 – the present).  Tracy also served on the Auburn Township Zoning Commission for 9 years and was a member of the Geauga County Planning Commission from 2006 – 2019.  He holds a Bachelors Degree in Natural Resource Management from The Ohio State University, a Master’s Degree in Biology from John Carroll University, and is a Professional Wetland Scientist as certified by the Society of Wetland Scientists.  Tracy works as a Regional Practice Leader for TRC, managing offices staffed by teams of biologists, wetland scientists, archaeologists, and environmental scientists in offices located from Wisconsin to Florida.  As a conservationist, Tracy enjoys birding, kayaking, hiking, hunting and fishing.  He takes great pride in the fact that he has purchased numerous properties for wetland and wildlife habitat conservation, that are perpetually protected under a conservation easement.

Jeffrey Huntsberger – Jeff joined the Board of Supervisors in 2015 and currently serves as the Chair of the Board.  He is a Munson Township resident of more than thirty-nine years where he and his wife, Sally, raised two boys and two girls.  He grew up in Chesterland and graduated from West Geauga High School.  As a retired partner with the law firm of McDonald Hopkins, LLC, Jeff has extensive experience in many areas of real estate, oil and gas, and business law.  He served on the Geauga County Planning Commission for 11 years including serving as Chair.  He is a member of the Geauga West Rotary Club and Celebration Lutheran Church in Chardon.  His hobbies include fly fishing and gardening.  Jeff enjoys being on the board because of his lifelong interest in Geauga County and preserving the County’s resources.

Voting begins September 19th.  All voters must be at least 18 years of age the day of the election and must reside or own land within Geauga County.  Anyone wishing to vote who cannot attend the Annual Dinner may do so by stopping by the Geauga SWCD office (12611 Ravenwood Drive, Chardon, Ohio 44024) during business hours (7:00 am – 3:30 pm) or by making a request for an absentee voting ballot by calling 440-834-1122 or emailing  All completed ballots must be received by 3:30 pm on October 18, 2022.  Don’t miss this unique conservation celebration!  Our Annual Dinner and Election will feature delicious food, conservation awards, painted rain barrels, and unique raffle items donated by local businesses.  The cost is $13 per person and we hope to see you there!  Visit to register or call 440-834-1122 for more information.

Geauga News
Author: Geauga News