Geauga SWCD’s Board of Supervisors Reorganize for the District’s 71st Year

During their first meeting of 2015, the Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District’s (SWCD) Board of Supervisors selected officers for the year. Serving as volunteers, the five-member Board of Supervisors sets the direction for the District and makes important conservation decisions for the community.

Board members are elected to serve staggered, three-year terms, and are granted specific powers under Chapter 1515 of the Ohio Revised Code. The Geauga SWCD was organized in 1944 and remains committed to its mission of “conserving, protecting and enhancing the soil and water resources of Geauga County by providing leadership, education and assistance to all.”

On Thursday, January 8, the newest member, Robert J. Rogish, Jr., was officially sworn onto the Board of Supervisors. Bob was nominated as Fiscal Agent and brings to the board valuable experience and dedication to natural resources conservation.

Geauga SWCD Board of Supervisors 2015
Left to right: Robert J. Rogish, Jr., Fiscal Agent; Mike Henry, Secretary; Dee Belew, Treasurer; Mike Blakeman, Vice Chair; and Ken Folsom, Board Chair

For the most part, the returning board members will assume different responsibilities for the upcoming year than they had in their previous terms. Ken Folsom will be Board Chair, Mike Blakeman will be Vice Chair, Dee Belew will serve as Treasurer and Mike Henry will be Secretary to the board.

Associate Supervisors were also appointed to serve as volunteers to assist the Geauga SWCD Board Supervisors and staff with various activities. Past supervisor Mary Slingluff will join Nancy Speck as a Geauga SWCD Associate Supervisors for 2015. The District would like to thank and congratulate the board members and associate supervisors and wish them luck in the coming year!

Geauga News
Author: Geauga News