Nine Chagrin Falls High School Students Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Chagrin Falls Schools is pleased to announce that nine students have been named National Merit Semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.  The students are Robert (Trey) Brosnan; Matthew Daniels (also scored a perfect score on the ACT); Rose Hoelzel; Alexandra Holtz; Anne Mills; Azzurra (Wren) Opperman; Josh Rooney; Hansen Song and Jude Zimmerman.


Left to right: Hansen Song, Jude Zimmerman, Rose Hoelzel, Wren Opperman, Anne Mills, Ali Holtz

Left to Right: Josh Rooney and Trey Brosnan, Not pictured: Matt Daniels

There are approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically-talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $30 million that will be offered next spring.


To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

Geauga News
Author: Geauga News