The Giggles ‘n Stitches 4-H Club Elects New Officers for 2018 and Plans Fun Events for the Year!

The Giggles ‘n Stitches 4-H Club has started yet another great year in 2018. The 4-H club is run by Lead Advisor Julia Wood with Graycen Wood, Lisa Hernandez, and Laura Hamby as the new club advisors for the 2018 4-H year. Club meetings this year began in February and the club has gone over the 4-H bylaws, the club calendar of meetings and events, and more.

The most important thing the club did in the beginning of the year was elect their new 2018 Officers. The new 2018 Officers include: President – Katherine Baumgartner, Vice President- Maggie Eibler,  Secretary – Autumn Hamby, Treasurer – Olivia Hall, News Reporter – Hannah Cooper, Health and Safety Officers – MaryJo Hernandez and Rebecca Zallar, Hospitality – Corrin Hamby, and Historians – Madeline Little and Mallory Yates.

Of our 34 members, six are Cloverbuds. Cloverbuds are younger 4-H members that do not compete. Although they cannot compete, they can participate in club events and sew along with the other members in the club. Many of the members are from various public or home schools in Geauga County and the club also includes two families from Portage County that have cross-county approval.

The upcoming JoAnn’s Friends and Family Field Trip is a big part of the 4-H year. It is where the members of the club get the fabric and/or materials for their project that they are creating for the 2018 year. This visit will occur in May at the JoAnn’s Craft and Fabric Store in Hudson.  The advisors along with the new officers will be there to help any members needing assistance. This trip will eventually lead to the Style Revue at Notre Dame Education Center in Munson on July 17th where members will be able to compete among others from Geauga County and possibly earn the opportunity to compete at the Ohio State Fair.  Please contact the Geauga County Extension Office at 440-843- 4656 if you have questions or would like to learn more about Giggles ‘n Stitches or Geauga County 4-H.

Contributed By:  Hannah Cooper, Club News Reporter

Pictured In Cover Photo:  Officers include (Back Row) Rebecca Zallar and MaryJo Hernandez (Health and Safety), Madeline Little and Mallory Yates (Historians), Corrin Hamby (Hospitality), (Front Row) Katherine Baumgartner (President), Maggie Eibler (Vice President), Autumn Hamby (Secretary), Olivia Hall (Treasurer), and not pictured, Hannah Cooper (News Reporter).

Geauga News
Author: Geauga News