Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District’s Board of Supervisors Reorganize for the District’s 74th Year

The Geauga Soil and Water Conservation District’s (SWCD) Board of Supervisors selected officers and committees for the coming year.  Serving as volunteers, the five-member Board of Supervisors sets the direction for the District and makes important conservation decisions for the community.  Board members are elected to serve staggered, three-year terms, and are granted specific powers under Chapter 1515 of the Ohio Revised Code.  The Geauga SWCD was organized in 1944 and remains committed to its mission of “conserving, protecting, and enhancing the soil and water resources of Geauga County by providing leadership, education, and assistance to all”.

Most of the returning board members will assume different responsibilities for the upcoming year than they had in their previous terms.  Jeff Huntsberger will be Board Chair, Robert J. Rogish, Jr. will be Vice Chair, Mary Slingluff will serve as Secretary, Dee Belew will be Treasurer, and Mike Henry will continue to serve as Fiscal Agent to the board.

Associate Supervisors are appointed to serve as volunteers to assist the Geauga SWCD Board Supervisors and staff with various activities.  Nancy Speck will continue to serve as Geauga SWCD Associate Supervisor.  The District would like to thank and congratulate these dedicated individuals and wish them luck in the coming year!

Pictured In Cover Photo:  2018 Geauga SWCD Board of Supervisors from Left to right: Robert J. Rogish, Jr., Vice Chair; Jeff Huntsberger, Board Chair; Mary Slingluff, Secretary; Dee Belew, Treasurer; and Mike Henry, Fiscal Agent

Geauga News
Author: Geauga News