Kenston School District Welcomes New Faculty

Eight new teaching staff members have joined the Kenston faculty.  They filled positions created by retirements, resignations or extended leaves.  We look forward to the talents and dedication of our faculty and staff as they work to design lessons that are challenging, interesting and satisfying.

Good Luck Graduates

As the 2017-18 school year begins we wish our 2017 graduates well as they embrace the future. Of the Class of 2017, 90% will be entering a 4-year college, specialty or technical school and ten percent will enter the military or workforce.

AP Scholar Awards

One hundred fifteen students at Kenston High School have earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school. In addition, they can receive college credit, advanced placement or both for their successful performance on the AP exams. About eighteen percent of the more than 1.6 million high school students took AP exams and performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.

National AP Scholars, Mira Grcevich, Onur Kardzhala, Kaitlin McGrath, Paige Palmer and Katherine Smith earned an average score of 4 or higher on a five-point scale on all AP Exams taken and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Forty-two students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of the exams. They were Jenna Barrett, Joseph Belson, Katherine Blazek, Brendan Byrnes, Elizabeth Castro, Samuel Cohen, Zachary Eyler, Dayle Foster, Evan Frank, Hanna Glasscock, Mira Grcevich, Jacqueline Jeromin, Onur Kardzhala, Alyssa Kassouf, Sam Kiley, Thomas Kregenow, April Leygraff, Sam Markel, Elise Markley, Erin Mast, Kaitlin McGrath, Pedro Michels, Ellen Model, Will Mulhern, Elizabeth Ortner, Paige Palmer, Lukas Palumbo, William Parsons, Andrew Radis, Abby Ramadan, Evan Sanders, Garrett Scocos, Samuel Slezak, Katherine Smith, Anna Soryal, Madison Spicuzza, Matthew Stanonis, Ashton Taylor, Alexandra Valocchi, Abigail Vossler, Lauren Whiteford and William Zadesky III.

John Barto, Madeline Bednar, Simon Coughlin, Fred Fikter, Megan Fisher, Will Grendell, Megan Hiser, Hannah Jordan, Sydney Koenig, Corenna Maynard, Lauren Obman, Benjamin Obringer, Paige Owen, Riley Potts, Ryan Sauder, John Schlagbaum and Morgan Spehar qualified for AP Scholar with Honors Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of the exams.

Fifty-seven students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. Earning AP Scholar recognition were Grace Adams, Benjamin Batista, Dillon Beal, Erica Belfi, Chloe Boutton, John Boutton, Will Britton, James Burg, Mackenzie Bush, Luke Caputo, Olivia Caruso, Catherine Clawson, Ryan Conover, Julianna DiMarco, Savanna Fee, Bill Fleming, Jessica Garrison, Devyn Gaskins, Katelyn Giebner, Brett Grossman, Mallorie Hart, Aya Henry, Megan Herbruck, Tyler Holub, Austin Kassouf, Samantha Kirschman, Elizabeth Kumnick, Brian Lesko, Mark Magnasco, Ernest Manke, Olivia Mathis, Makena Maurer, Gillian McMaster, Evan Measures, Sam Mendolera, Tanner Mulhern, Emma Nidy, Joshua Niemann, Trey Petrella, George Quay, Andrea Rengers, Kellie Ross, Gabriella Salvini, Ellie Schabel, Karlee Schultz, Mia Sferra, Zachmann Skala, Anna Snyder, Nicholas Vitello, Kimberly Voudris, Jakob Wardega, Nathan Wasinski, Chloe Weber, Maria Weil, Alexandra Weinhofer and Sydney Winovich.

Pictured In Cover Photo: Back Row From Left to Right: Ashley Marko, TES Academic Tutor; Sarah Stevens, KMS French Teacher; Lindsey Hixenbaugh, Speech Language Pathologist and Katie Seifried, Pre-school Teacher and Trisha Randall, Pre-school Teacher; Front Row, From Left to Right: Sarah Sheneman – KHS Spanish Teacher; Alyssa Thomas, Half-Day Kindergarten Teacher and Samantha Mason, KIS Music Teacher.

Geauga News
Author: Geauga News