Ohio students become finalists for the International Science & Engineering Fair 

A total of 76 students from 27 high schools competed at the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair. Sponsored by the AEP Foundation, the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair is a  program of The Ohio Academy of Science. This highly competitive program that offers the opportunity  for Ohio’s students to advance to the Regeneron International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF) May 8- 13 in Atlanta, Georgia.  

2022 ISEF Finalists Announced to represent the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair 

Ms. Laasya Acharya – 9th Grade, William Mason HS (Mason) 

Mr. Mihai Crisan – 12th Grade, Upper Arlington HS (Upper Arlington)  

Mr. Johan DeMessie – 11th Grade, William Mason HS (Mason) 

Ms. Kaitlyn Ernst – 10th Grade, Laurel School (Shaker Hts.) 

Mr. Destynn Keuchel – 12th Grade, Hawken School (Gates Mills) 

Ms. Maya Sarikonda – 12th Grade, Sylvania Northview HS (Sylvania)  

These six (6) students have been selected to compete at the 2022 ISEF, where they will join 1,700 other  students from 70 countries and territories to compete for nearly $4,000,000 in scholarships and awards.  

“These students have been led by their curiosity to find new discoveries and answers to their  questions.”, said Michael E. Woytek, Executive Director of The Ohio Academy of Science. This year’s  projects covered a wide range of scientific categories. The 2022 Finalists presented in the categories of  robotics & intelligent machines, embedded systems, environmental science, biomedical & health  science, materials science, and microbiology. Woytek added, “our program celebrates and encourages  today’s students to use inquiry and design to solve problems that improve the human condition and  issues within our communities.” 

The Ohio Academy of Science also provides additional awards at the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair.  

John and Ruth Melvin Scholars – The following students were selected to represent the Ohio Academy  of Science at the 2023 American Junior Academy of Science Meeting (Washington DC) and $100 toward  the AJAS registration:  

Laasya Acharya (William Mason HS), William Bershback (Ottawa Hills Jr/Sr), Mihai Crisan (Upper  Arlington HS), Carlton Cort (University School), Johan DeMessie (William Mason HS), Luke Doseck  (Dayton Regional STEM School), Claire English (Mentor HS), Kaitlyn Ernst (Laurel School), Thomas  Franklin (Ottawa Hills Jr/Sr), Raymond Flowers (Sylvania Northview), Janu Gadthula (William Mason HS),  Kara Jones (Central Christian HS), Vishwum Kapadia (University School), Tanya Keskar (William Mason  HS), Destynn Keuchel (Hawken School), Haasini Mendu (William Mason HS), Nathan Mu (University  School) Deepthisri Paruchuri (Olentangy HS), Ramya Rajan (William Mason HS), Maya Sarikonda  (Sylvania Northview HS), Shreya Singh (Centerville HS), Nathan Snizik (Carroll HS), Maya Tang (Hathaway  Brown), Neil Tivakaran (Carroll HS) Seth Tivakaran (Carroll HS), Alexander Vincenti (University School),  Weining Wang (University School), Joseph Wright (University School), and Katherine Wronowski (Turpin  HS).  

Believe in Ohio Awards – The following students were awarded $50 and the opportunity to submit a  Commercialization Plan for the 2023 State Qualifying Competition:  

Laasya Acharya (William Mason HS), Johan DeMessie (William Mason HS), Raymond Flowers (Sylvania  Northview HS), Kara Jones (Central Christian HS), Ramya Rajan (William Mason HS), Shreya Singh  (Centerville HS), Nathan Snizik (Carroll HS), Maya Tang (Hathaway Brown), Neil Tivakaran (Carroll HS),  Seth Tivakaran (Carroll HS), Weining Wang (University School) 

A total of 27 high schools were represented at the 2022 Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair.  They include:  

Carroll HS-Dayton-Montgomery  

Centerville HS-Centerville-Montgomery  

Central Christian-Kidron-Wayne  

Dayton Regional STEM School-Kettering-Montgomery  

Dublin Jerome HS-Dublin-Franklin  

Hathaway Brown-Shaker Hts-Cuyahoga  

Hawken School-Gates Mills-Geauga  

Horizon Science Academy-Columbus-Franklin  

Jackson HS-Massillon-Stark  

Laurel School-Shaker Hts-Cuyahoga  

Marion L Steele HS – Amherst- Lorain  

Marysville STEM Early College HS-Marysville-Union 

Mayfield HS-Mayfield Hts.-Cuyahoga  

Mentor HS-Mentor-Lake  

Miller City – New Cleveland HS-Miller City-Putnam  

Olentangy HS-Lewis Center-Delaware  

Ottawa Hills Junior/Senior HS-Ottawa Hills-Lucas  

Seven Hills School – Cincinnati – Hamilton 

Solon HS-Solon-Cuyahoga  

Sylvania Northview HS-Sylvania-Lucas  

Sylvania Southview HS-Sylvania-Lucas  

The University School-Chagrin Falls-Cuyahoga 

Tippecanoe HS-Tipp City-Miami  

Turpin HS-Cincinnati-Hamilton  

Upper Arlington HS-Upper Arlington-Franklin 

West Geauga HS-Chesterland-Geauga  

William Mason HS-Mason-Warren  

To visit the Buckeye Science & Engineering Fair and view the project displays, please use this link  https://projectboard.world/bsef/ 

For more information, about The Ohio Academy of Science, please call 614-389-2182 or email  mwoytek@ohiosci.org. Additional information can also be found at: 





Geauga News
Author: Geauga News