Kenston School News  – March 11, 2021

Speech and Debate State Qualifiers

We are pleased to recognize 12 Kenston High School students that qualified for the State Tournament in Speech and Debate.  This competition is being conducted virtually this year.  They are Delaney Bochenek, Devin Cinch, Skylar Cinch, Margaret Eibler, Micah Greenberg, Ella Jewell, Stephen Kale, OkanKardzhala, Avery Steinberg, Samantha Stephens, Eden Truax and Colin Varga.  This is Colin Varga’s4th state qualification, he will be competing in Congressional Debate.


America Mathematics Competition

Kenston High School students recently had the opportunity to compete in the American Mathematics Competition 10/12 by taking a 25 question, 75 minute, multiple choice exam in high school mathematics designed to promote the development and enhancement of problem solving skills.  This competition provides an opportunity for high school students to develop positive attitudes towards analytical thinking and mathematics that can assist in future careers.  The AMC 10/12 is the first in a series of competitions that culminate in the International Mathematical Olympiad.


Jackson Beclay and Dominic Fontana tied for 1st place with Max Rossier  placing 3rd on the American Mathematics – 10 exam.  In AMC – 12, Jessica Kirschmen placed 1st, Walker Glime 2nd and Vince Romano 3rd place.


Academic Improvement Awards

The Kenston Academic Boosters is proud to recognize 38 students for their recent academic achievement. These students improved their GPA by 0.5 or better between each quarter of the first semester. They are: Evelyn Ayala, Caitlyn Borland, Vance Brodnik, Elizabeth Bryan, Samuel Bryner, Benjamin Burlinghaus, Nicholas Daramus, Ava Drcar, Victoria Field, Logan Goodrich, Nichole Herendeen, Aaron Hirt, Emily Jernejcic, Sarah Jones, Rachel Lechak, Sean Lennon, Jericho Levine, Malcolm Linder, Braden Lytton, Meghan Macsuga, Ryan Manning, Kiara Miller, Mia O’Brien, Samuel O’Brien, Adriana Ramsey, Nicholas Romano, Jackson Rosneck, Riley Rosneck, Michael Ruf-Young, Avery Siperke, Hailey Sowards, Andrew Swantek, Jack Ussery, Aiden Vanderbilt, Alexandria Veon, David Wachtler, Alena White and Mason Zagorski.


March Rotary Senior

Alexa Busby has been selected Kenston’s Chagrin Valley Rotary Club Student of the Month in November. She maintains a 4.482-grade point average.  Alexa has earned academic honors in A.P. Human Geography, A.P. U.S. History, Honors Algebra II, Honors Precalculus and Spanish III.  She has earned AP Scholar and AP Scholar with Distinction.  For her scholarship and community service, she has been honored all 4 years with the Presidential Academic Excellence Award.


Alexa was one of three Geauga County students to be honored with the Geauga Parks Bob McCullough Memorial Conservation Scholarship, having demonstrated a commitment to conservation during her high school career.


Alexa is a varsity letter winner in Cross Country and track, earning the Scholar Athlete Award in both sports and also a Scholar Athlete Award.  As a member and 2 year president of Envirothon, an environmental conversation club, she has furthered her conservation commitment.  As a junior, she qualified for state as a member of the Science Olympiad team, competing in the Water Quality, GeoLogic Mapping and Dynamic Planet events.  Alexa’s leadership and commitment to her classmates is evident in her role as 4 year class secretary.


Alexa is undecided in her college decision.  She plans to attend a four-year university and major in biology or environmental science.  She plans to attend graduate school and continue to earn a doctoral degree.


Leave a Comment